IPL 2021

The 2021 Indian Premier League, also known as IPL 14 or, for sponsorship reasons, Vivo IPL 2021, is the fourteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. Mumbai Indians are the two times defending champions, having won both the 2019 and the 2020 seasons. Ahead of the tournament, Kings XI Punjab were renamed as the Punjab Kings.

On 4 May 2021, the tournament was suspended indefinitely, after a rise in COVID-19 cases within the bio bubbles of respective teams. At the time of the suspension, 31 of the scheduled 60 matches were still left to be played. On 29 May 2021, the BCCI announced that the remaining matches of the tournament would be played in the United Arab Emirates in September and October 2021.[10][11] The schedule for the remainder of the tournament was released on 25 July 2021.



Although earlier reports suggested the addition of two more teams in the season, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in their 89th AGM announced that there would not be any additional team for this season and the inclusion of two new teams should happen only in 2022.

On 30 January 2021, the BCCI announced that they were confident to host the tournament in India. They also said that the UAE wasn’t being considered as a backup venue. On the day of the auction, the BCCI also confirmed that Vivo had returned as the title sponsor, after pulling out from the previous tournament. As of late February, the BCCI were considering to host the tournament in a few shortlisted cities, which included KolkataDelhiBangaloreAhmedabad and Chennai, with Mumbai as an additional option.

On 7 March 2021, the BCCI announced the full schedule for the season. Six venues, including all the five shortlisted venues and the additional option Mumbai were scheduled to host matches. To avoid home advantage, no team was scheduled to play at their home venue. The season was scheduled to start from 9 April, with the final taking place on 30 May at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The BCCI also confirmed that the tournament would begin behind closed doors, and a call on letting spectators in would be taken at a later stage. After the sudden rise in COVID cases in India, Hyderabad was also added a backup venue, though no matches were played there.

After the relocation to the UAE, BCCI were looking to allow at least 50% vaccinated audience in the stadium, if permitted by the local government. Four days before the restart, spectators were allowed in by following COVID-19 protocols